Result Announcement

It is our pleasure to announce the winners of the ASC‘s Cybernetics of Cybernetics Competition. We have received 18 entries, all of which can be found here. We sincerely thank all entrants for their valuable and creative input. It will be taken into due consideration in the governance of the ASC’s future!

The Winner of the Cybernetics of Cybernetics Competition is the entry by “Stella Octangula” (pseudonym), entitled “Structure, Environment, Purpose, and a Grand Challenge for the ASC

The Winner of the Heinz von Foerster Prize is the entry by “Gordon Heavyfoot” (pseudonym), entitled “The ACRE Model“.

Congratulations to Stella Octangula and to Gordon Heavyfoot (who may reveal their identities shortly)!

Preliminary judging was carried out by Phillip Guddemi, Michael Hohl, Allenna Leonard, Elizabeth Simpson, Janet Singer and Lee Worden, chaired by Ranulph Glanville, president of the ASC. These judges decided the award of the Heinz von Foerster Prize.

Final Judgement of the Cybernetics of Cybernetics prize was made by Mary Catherine Bateson, Humberto Maturana and Karl Mueller, chaired by Ranulph Glanville.

On behalf of the ASC, I thank all the judges for the excellent work they volunteered to the challenging selection process.

Entries are the property of the ASC and may be quoted under creative commons. A book publication is anticipated. No correspondence will be entered into and the judges’ decision is final.

Ranulph Glanville, Chair of Judges

Print Friendly, PDF & Email